Shell V-Power vs BP Ultimate vs Esso Supreme+: premium fuels compared
Each brand's premium petrol and diesel side by side: the price over its regular grade, what the brand claims, and the octane it states.
By Forecourt Prices Published Updated
The short answer
On our latest figures, super unleaded (E5) averages 188.7p a litre across UK forecourts, 17.0p more than unleaded (E10) at 171.7p. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
On our latest figures, super diesel averages 217.4p a litre across UK forecourts, 19.0p more than diesel (B7) at 198.4p. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
On our latest figures, Shell V-Power is the dearest super unleaded of Shell, BP and Texaco, at 195.4p a litre. Texaco Supreme Unleaded is the cheapest, at 186.2p. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
On our latest figures, Shell V-Power Diesel is the dearest super diesel of Shell, BP and Texaco, at 222.8p a litre. Texaco Supreme Diesel is the cheapest, at 212.0p. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
Nobody publishes an independent like-for-like test of these fuels, and we haven't tested them. So we compare prices and claims, not quality.
Brand averages from our price data, from each brand's forecourts away from motorway services. A brand is listed once at least 20 of its forecourts have a price for the grade. The Forecourts column counts them.
Super unleaded
Each brand's average super unleaded price, how much more it costs than the same brand's unleaded, and what that adds to a 55-litre fill. Widest gap first.
| Brand | A litre | Over its unleaded | On 55 litres | Forecourts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big brands and supermarkets | ||||
| Shell Shell V-Power | 195.4p, mostly from older prices | +21.2p, mostly from older prices | £11.66 | 501 |
| BP BP Ultimate Unleaded | 191.8p, mostly from older prices | +19.2p, mostly from older prices | £10.56 | 616 |
| Texaco Texaco Supreme Unleaded | 186.2p, mostly from older prices | +16.3p, mostly from older prices | £8.97 | 231 |
| Sainsbury's | 181.8p, mostly from older prices | +12.0p, mostly from older prices | £6.60 | 291 |
| Tesco Tesco Momentum 99 | 181.3p, mostly from older prices | +10.7p, mostly from older prices | £5.89 | 396 |
| Asda | No figure | |||
| Esso | No figure | |||
| Morrisons | No figure | |||
| Other brands | ||||
| EG On The Move | 191.7p, mostly from older prices | +19.8p, mostly from older prices | £10.89 | 119 |
| Gulf | 187.7p, mostly from older prices | +16.0p, mostly from older prices | £8.80 | 94 |
| Costco Costco Premium Unleaded 97 | 174.6p | +10.5p, mostly from older prices | £5.78 | 21 |
| Northern Ireland | ||||
| Maxol | 173.8p, mostly from older prices | +9.0p, mostly from older prices | £4.95 | 46 |
Northern Ireland brands are listed apart, as most of their forecourts are there.
Super diesel
Each brand's average super diesel price, how much more it costs than the same brand's diesel, and what that adds to a 55-litre fill. Widest gap first.
| Brand | A litre | Over its diesel | On 55 litres | Forecourts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big brands and supermarkets | ||||
| Shell Shell V-Power Diesel | 222.8p, mostly from older prices | +22.5p, mostly from older prices | £12.38 | 451 |
| BP BP Ultimate Diesel | 218.2p, mostly from older prices | +18.6p, mostly from older prices | £10.23 | 541 |
| Texaco Texaco Supreme Diesel | 212.0p, mostly from older prices | +15.2p, mostly from older prices | £8.36 | 152 |
| Morrisons | 206.4p, mostly from older prices | +9.9p, mostly from older prices | £5.45 | 81 |
| Asda | No figure | |||
| Esso | No figure | |||
| Sainsbury's | No figure | |||
| Tesco | No figure | |||
| Other brands | ||||
| EG On The Move | 216.9p, mostly from older prices | +19.1p, mostly from older prices | £10.51 | 65 |
| Gulf | 216.0p, mostly from older prices | +16.8p, mostly from older prices | £9.24 | 57 |
Figures marked † are mostly from prices over 3 days old.
What each brand says about its premium fuel
In the brands' own words, with what each claim is measured against. We haven't tested any of them.
Shell V-Power and V-Power Diesel
Shell says V-Power unleaded "contains three times more cleaning and protection molecules than our regular fuel". Its footnote says that is against Shell FuelSave Unleaded[1].
It says V-Power cleans "up to 100%" of the deposits on critical engine parts, and "restores up to 100% of your engine's performance". It also says V-Power improves fuel economy, from industry standard and Shell's own tests[1].
For V-Power Diesel, Shell claims "60% more cleaning and protection molecules" than its FuelSave Diesel. It calls it "our best ever performance fuel", against the V-Power Diesel before it, and says it helps protect the exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) system[2].
Each of these footnotes ends "No guarantees provided"[1][2]. Shell's FAQ says it can't give a standard fuel consumption figure[3].
BP Ultimate Unleaded and Ultimate Diesel
BP calls Ultimate Unleaded "our best fuel to clean and help maintain" petrol engines. It says it starts working from the first fill[4].
BP claims "up to 375 more miles per year". Its footnote bases that on 6,400 miles a year, from Department for Transport figures, and compares Ultimate Unleaded with 95 octane petrol[4].
For Ultimate Diesel, BP bases the same claim on engines tested dirty and then cleaned. It says ongoing use helps "restore and maintain engine power"[5].
BP's footnotes say the benefits may vary[4][5].
Esso Synergy Supreme+ 99 and Supreme+ Diesel
Esso says Synergy Supreme+ 99 gives a "3x cleaner engine" than its Synergy Unleaded 95. Its footnote says that is in port fuel injected engines[6].
It says Supreme+ 99 has 3 active detergents and more than twice the detergent molecules, to help give "more miles per tank"[6].
Esso says Synergy Supreme+ Diesel has "double the detergent additive" of its regular diesel, which it says helps fuel economy[7].
The 1.8% better fuel economy Esso quotes is for its regular Synergy diesel, from tests over 4,000 km[7].
Texaco Supreme Unleaded and Supreme Diesel
Texaco says its Supreme fuels contain "a performance additive package". It says they are sold at selected service stations[8].
It says regular use can help improve acceleration and fuel economy, reduce exhaust emissions, deliver smooth performance and enhance reliability[8].
Texaco calls its regular petrol Premium Unleaded 95. Its premium grades are the two Supreme fuels[8].
Tesco Momentum 99
Tesco says Momentum 99 "contains a special blend of additives to help keep a car's fuel system clean and working at its best"[9].
It says it can improve performance for cars that are able to take advantage of it, "generally, sportier models"[9].
Octane: what each brand states
Octane measures how well petrol resists knock. Esso says any benefit from a higher octane depends on the design and calibration of your engine[7].
In Great Britain, petrol must be at least 95 octane[10]. GOV.UK calls E5 the "super" grade, at 97 octane or more[11].
Only two of these brands give an octane number for their premium petrol on their UK sites.
- Esso Synergy Supreme+ 99
- 99. Esso says it "is a 99 octane petrol"[7].
- Tesco Momentum 99
- 99. Tesco gives 99 "compared to 95 for regular unleaded petrol"[9].
- Shell V-Power
- Not stated by the brand on its UK site[1].
- BP Ultimate Unleaded
- Not stated by the brand on its UK site. Its footnote compares it with 95 octane petrol[4].
- Texaco Supreme Unleaded
- Not stated by the brand on its UK site[8].
Diesel is rated by cetane, not octane. In Great Britain it must have a cetane number of at least 51[10]. Forecourts in Great Britain can't sell 93 octane petrol: the legal minimum is 95[10].
How much ethanol is in premium petrol?
GOV.UK calls E5 the "super" grade of petrol. E5 has no more than 5% ethanol[11].
Shell gives no percentage. It says drivers whose cars can't use E10 "are still able to use E5 by purchasing Shell V-Power grade petrol from most Shell service stations"[3].
BP says its E5 "super" grade is bp Ultimate Unleaded with ACTIVE technology, sold at most bp sites[12].
Esso says Synergy Supreme+ 99 "contains up to 5% ethanol"[7].
Tesco doesn't say how much ethanol Momentum 99 contains[9].
GOV.UK says it is safe to mix E5 and E10 in a car that can use E10[11].
E10 vs E5: what's the difference, and is E5 worth the extra?
Tesco Momentum 99 and the supermarkets
On our latest figures, Tesco Momentum 99 averages 181.3p a litre, 14.1p less than Shell V-Power at 195.4p. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
On our latest figures, Sainsbury's super unleaded averages 181.8p a litre, 12.0p more than Sainsbury's unleaded at 169.8p. That is across 291 forecourts. We have no Sainsbury's super diesel figure. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
On our latest figures, Morrisons super diesel averages 206.4p a litre, 9.9p more than Morrisons diesel at 196.5p. That is across 81 forecourts. We have no Morrisons super unleaded figure. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
We have no Asda super unleaded or super diesel figure.
Tesco says most of its petrol stations in England, Scotland and Wales stock Momentum 99. It says it doesn't have a supply terminal in Northern Ireland that can make its high octane base fuel[9].
We found no page from Sainsbury's, Morrisons or Asda that names their premium grades or says what is in them.
How each brand's premium gap has moved
Super unleaded
Each brand's average super unleaded price less its own unleaded price, each day since 7 February 2026, in pence a litre.
On 1 November, the widest super unleaded gap was Shell's, at 21.2p a litre. The narrowest was Tesco's, at 10.6p.
| Brand | Last full day, 1 November | Narrowest | Widest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shell | 21.2p | 18.1p9 April | 25.5p9 March |
| Morrisons | 20.0pon 27 October | 12.5p3 April | 23.0p7 September |
| EG On The Move | 19.8p | 18.7p17 March | 20.5p10 May |
| Valero | 19.7p | 16.8p26 March | 22.0p8 February |
| BP | 19.2p | 17.6p26 September | 20.2p2 July |
| Esso | 18.1p | 16.5p27 September | 20.9p2 July |
| Texaco | 16.3p | 15.6p25 May | 17.8p1 March |
| Gulf | 16.0p | 13.0p26 February | 16.9p23 July |
| JET | 15.5p | 13.8p10 May | 19.4p1 March |
| Murco | 14.5pon 21 October | 13.3p23 March | 16.4p1 May |
| Sainsbury's | 12.0p | 10.7p3 September | 12.1p19 October |
| Tesco | 10.6p | 9.2p1 April | 10.7p24 October |
| MaxolNorthern Ireland | 9.6pon 8 October | 8.6p12 September | 9.8p7 October |
Figures to 1 November 2026.
Daily brand averages from our price data, away from motorway services. A day counts for a brand once at least 50 of its forecourts have a price for each grade.
Super diesel
Each brand's average super diesel price less its own diesel price, each day since 7 February 2026, in pence a litre.
On 1 November, the widest super diesel gap was Shell's, at 22.5p a litre. The narrowest was Morrisons', at 9.9p.
| Brand | Last full day, 1 November | Narrowest | Widest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shell | 22.5p | 14.6p31 March | 25.7p3 March |
| EG On The Move | 19.1p | 18.6p15 June | 20.8p6 April |
| Valero | 19.1p | 15.4p6 April | 22.8p8 February |
| BP | 18.6p | 15.0p1 April | 20.2p2 July |
| Gulf | 16.8p | 11.8p5 March | 17.1p23 July |
| Esso | 16.2p | 13.2p6 April | 21.9p8 February |
| Texaco | 15.2p | 14.3p6 April | 18.0p8 July |
| JET | 14.6pon 28 October | 11.5p6 April | 19.1p25 February |
| Morrisons | 9.9p | 9.4p4 April | 10.5p22 July |
Figures to 1 November 2026.
Daily brand averages from our price data, away from motorway services. A day counts for a brand once at least 50 of its forecourts have a price for each grade.
Is premium fuel worth it?
A premium fuel pays for itself only if it cuts what you spend per mile. To do that, it has to improve your fuel economy by at least the share it adds to the price.
So each line below is the premium grade's gap divided by the same brand's regular price. These are the gains each fuel would need, not gains anyone has measured.
On our latest figures, super unleaded would need this much better fuel economy to pay its way: about 12% at Shell, 11% at BP, 10% at Texaco and 6% at Tesco. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
On our latest figures, super diesel would need this much better fuel economy to pay its way: about 11% at Shell, 9% at BP, 8% at Texaco and 5% at Morrisons. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
The sums are worked through in our guides to E10 vs E5 and premium diesel.
Common questions about premium fuel
Which is better, Shell V-Power or BP Ultimate?
Neither brand publishes an independent like-for-like test, and we haven't tested them. Shell says V-Power has three times the cleaning and protection molecules of its regular fuel[1]. BP calls Ultimate Unleaded its best fuel to clean and help maintain petrol engines[4]. On our latest figures, Shell V-Power averages 195.4p a litre and BP Ultimate Unleaded 191.8p, so Shell V-Power costs 3.6p a litre more. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
Which is better, Shell V-Power Diesel or BP Ultimate Diesel?
Neither brand publishes an independent like-for-like test, and we haven't tested them. Shell claims 60% more cleaning and protection molecules than its FuelSave Diesel[2]. BP says ongoing use of Ultimate Diesel helps restore and maintain engine power[5]. On our latest figures, Shell V-Power Diesel averages 222.8p a litre and BP Ultimate Diesel 218.2p, so Shell V-Power Diesel costs 4.6p a litre more. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
Is Tesco Momentum 99 better than Shell V-Power?
We haven't tested either. Tesco says Momentum 99 is 99 octane[9]. Shell doesn't state an octane for V-Power on its UK site[1]. On our latest figures, Tesco Momentum 99 averages 181.3p a litre, 14.1p less than Shell V-Power at 195.4p. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
What octane is BP Ultimate?
BP doesn't state one on its UK site. Its footnote compares Ultimate Unleaded with 95 octane petrol[4]. BP says Ultimate Unleaded is its E5 "super" grade[12], and GOV.UK says super grade petrol is 97 octane or more[11].
Is Shell V-Power 99 octane?
Shell doesn't state an octane for V-Power on its UK site[1]. It says drivers who need E5 can buy V-Power[3], and GOV.UK says super grade petrol is 97 octane or more[11]. Esso and Tesco do say their premium petrols are 99 octane[7][9].
How much ethanol is in Shell V-Power?
Shell doesn't give a percentage. It says drivers whose cars can't use E10 can use E5 by buying Shell V-Power[3]. GOV.UK says E5 has no more than 5% ethanol[11].
Can you mix V-Power and normal petrol?
GOV.UK says it is safe to mix E5 and E10 in a car that can use E10[11]. Shell says drivers who need E5 can buy V-Power[3].
Is Esso fuel good?
We haven't tested any fuel, so we can't rate it. Esso says Synergy Supreme+ 99 is a 99 octane petrol[7]. It says it gives a "3x cleaner engine" than its Synergy Unleaded 95, in port fuel injected engines[6]. We have no Esso Synergy Supreme+ 99 figure.
What are the disadvantages of V-Power?
The one we can measure is the price. Shell's FAQ says it can't give a standard fuel consumption figure, and that deposits already in the engine take time to clear[3]. Its claims carry the line "No guarantees provided"[1]. On our latest figures, Shell V-Power averages 195.4p a litre, 21.2p more than Shell unleaded at 174.2p. On a 55-litre fill that is £11.66 more. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old.
How much is Shell V-Power today?
On our latest figures, Shell V-Power averages 195.4p a litre across 501 Shell forecourts, and Shell V-Power Diesel 222.8p across 451. Most of the prices behind these averages are more than 3 days old. Each Shell station page lists V-Power where the forecourt sells it.
What supreme diesel is, and whether premium diesel helps a DPF: is premium diesel worth it?
Sources and method
- Shell UK: Shell V-Power unleaded, checked 15 October 2026.
- Shell UK: Shell V-Power Diesel, checked 15 October 2026.
- Shell UK: Shell fuels, checked 25 October 2026.
- bp UK: bp Ultimate Unleaded with ACTIVE technology, checked 25 October 2026.
- bp UK: bp Ultimate Diesel with ACTIVE technology, checked 25 October 2026.
- Esso UK: Synergy petrol, checked 25 October 2026.
- Esso UK: Synergy Fuels, checked 15 October 2026.
- Texaco UK: Our motor fuels, checked 15 October 2026.
- Tesco: Tesco Momentum 99, checked 15 October 2026.
- legislation.gov.uk: The Motor Fuel (Composition and Content) and the Biofuel (Labelling) (Amendment) (No. 2) Regulations 2021, checked 15 October 2026.
- GOV.UK: E10 petrol explained, checked 13 October 2026.
- bp UK: E10 petrol, checked 25 October 2026.
Our figures: each average is over every forecourt's latest price reported in the last 30 days, leaving out prices far from what the rest of the UK charges. The brand figures leave out motorway services too. How we work out the figures